Home > DIY Playthings > Rubber Restraints

Rubber Restraints

One of the classics are the self made restraints. Of course I had to do my own, too. Since I’m definitively more in rubber than in leather I went with 2 mm thick rubber sheet. For working with the rivets a rivet press from Ebay turned out to be extremely useful. The rivets, buckles and D-Rings are from Lederhaus, a German web shop for leather crafting.

For all restraints the principle is the same. On the 5 cm wide base layer a 25 mm wide strap with D-Rings and buckles is riveted. This strap is 6-7 cm longer than the base. The length for the different restraints are as follows:

  • Wrist: 18 cm
  • Ankle: 25 cm
  • Elbow: 27 cm, 2 D-Rings
  • Neck: 39 cm, 3 D-Rings
  • Knee: 45 cm, 2 D-Rings

These should fit most females and so far I haven’t had any problems with my play partners.

There are a few things you have to pay attention when riveting the whole thing together. Don’t press the rivets to hard or they will slip through the rubber. Since the shackles bend around a limb one shouldn’t fix the strap flat on the wider base. Rather one should allow for a slight loop. The same is even more true for the D-Rings.

Also I made a set of 25 mm wide straps in the lengths of 50 cm, 70 cm, 90 cm and 120 cm. Based on these straps I made a harness to hold plugs, etc. in place to finish the set.

Things I Would Change the Next Time

Most of the things I usually build at least twice. Every new project brings also a new learning curve with it. Since these are the first batch I made, I probably will do an other set some time. The geometry will be the same, since they fitted every time perfectly so far. But I will definitively change the material. They will be either of leather or of thicker, fabric reinforced rubber so the rivets won’t slip through that easy. Further I will glue on a second layer on the inside to cover the heads of the rivets. But for that the rivets have to be rock solid.

Categories: DIY Playthings Tags: ,
  1. vikink
    January 7, 2014 at 22:23

    Wow man. These are awesome! I had an idea to try and craft something very similar from thick rubber. I couldn’t find the material though. Where did you get the rubber and clear PVC for the clear toys project? I’m in europe and couln’t find anything on the web 😦

    Also: I love your vacuum electrodes. They’re spot on the same thing I sketched in my notepad a while ago. Never attempted to craft them because I couldn’t find proper tubes & components 😦

    I never actually crafted anything but I get many twisted ideas and I think it’s time to play with them a bit πŸ˜‰

    Keep up the good work!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

